2020 DeVries Scholarship – Due July 10th

Completed student applications must be reviewed and submitted by the county Farm Bureau of the applying student.  Applicants must check with their own county for submission due dates.

Each year the Washington Farm Bureau offers up to five (5) $2,000 scholarships as part of the Ray DeVries Memorial Scholarship program. 

A person may receive the scholarship only once, and must meet the following requirements.

Applicant must be:

1. A member, or the son, daughter, or legal dependent of a Farm Bureau member family with a current membership

2. Attending an accredited college/university, or technical school

3. Enrolled in a field of agriculture, e.g. food science, horticulture, ag technical course, animal science, etc. or in a course as it relates to agriculture

4. Applicants must have completed at least one year of post-secondary education.

Forms to Download:

2020 Scholarship Application

Printable scholarship application instructions

Lists of Past Winners:

2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012, 2008, 2007

Other scholarships are available from county Farm Bureaus

 County Amount Application Deadline    Contact
Adams  $500 (4)  March 14 David Leatherman
(509) 488-4285
Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors who are members of a Farm Bureau family.
Benton $1,000 April 15 Kyle Barclay
(509) 734-5539
Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors who are members of a Farm Bureau family. Information
Chelan/Douglas $1,000 May 1 April Clayton
(509) 697-0644
Eligibility: Graduating high school senior who has been accepted by accredited college or university, or college student enrolled in agricultural field of study. Must be a Chelan/Douglas County Farm Bureau member.
Clark/Cowlitz $500-$1,500 April 30 Anne Lawrence
(360) 576-7139
Eligibility:  Steve Frice Memorial Scholarship awarded to graduating high school senior or current college student. Applicant or parents must be voting members of Clark/Cowlitz Farm Bureau for at least 2 years
$800 (1)
$700 (1)
May 14 Bill Warren
(509) 382-4205
Eligibility: Monty Leighty/Wallace Robins Memorial Scholarship ($800) will be awarded to a graduating senior who is a son, daughter or legal dependent of a family holding voting membership in CBMCFB and who has been accepted into an accredited college or university continuing their education.
Franklin $1,000 Columbia Basin College Foundation
2600 N. 20th Ave.
Pasco, WA 99301
(509) 542-5519
Eligibility: This scholarship is an endowed scholarship at Columbia Basin College. For a student to qualify to receive the scholarship, he or she must be enrolled in an agricultural field of study at CBC.
Grant $1,000 (3) Application deadline has been extended to June 10, 2020 from April 1, 2020. Char McDowell
(509) 431-3552
Eligibility: The Grant County Farm Bureau/George Turner Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a Farm Bureau member who is attending college in agriculture or a related field. For scholarship information, click here. For scholarship application, click here.
Up to $3,000 May 1 Terry Willis
(360) 249-5386
olyviewdairy@centurytel.netLinda Waltenburg
(360) 482-8819
Eligibility: Information
King/Pierce $1,000
$750 (2)
April 30 Sarah Howard
Eligibility: $1,000 scholarship awarded to graduating high school senior (or current college student) who plans to pursue an ag-related field of study. Must be member of the King/Pierce Farm Bureau.$750 scholarships available for any field of study. Must be members of the King/Pierce County Farm Bureau. Instructions are available in here and the application can be found here.
Kittitas $1,000 Brad Haberman
(509) 925-6528
Eligibility: Graduating high school senior and a member of a Farm Bureau family.Applications available at Ellensburg High School.
Lewis $3000 or more annually Jan 1st – April 15 Maureen Harkcom
(360) 515-6129
Eligibility: Open to any high school or GED senior or current undergraduate. Must be a Lewis County, WA resident.

Requires Application form (available at www.lewiscountyfb.com) and Letter of Application — why you should be chosen for one of the two scholarships (priority to FB member families, 4-H, FFA, and Ag connections).

Skagit $1,000 March 30 Sandy Dykstra
Graduating high school senior or already enrolled in accredited college or vocational program. Must be son or daughter of voting Skagit County Farm Bureau member. Scholarship information and instructions
Snohomish $1,000 (2) May 10 Judy Bartelheimer
(360) 568-1189
Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors whose families have been members the Snohomish County Farm Bureau for at least two years.
Spokane $1,000 (2) May 20 Sue Cronk
Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors or college students. Application For more information, click here to view the Spokane County Farm Bureau website.
Whatcom $3,000 April – See application for official deadline Debbie VanderVeen




Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors or college students whose families are members of the Whatcom County Farm Bureau since October 1st of the previous year. Previous scholarship winners are ineligible. Click here to apply. 2020 Scholarship Winners
Whitman $750 May 28 Diane Appel
(509) 397-3220
Eligibility: Graduating high school senior or college student enrolled in, or planning to enroll in an agricultural field of study. Must be a Whitman County Farm Bureau member. Click here to download the application.